FIT Investors, a platform that connects investors and start-ups

FIT | 03 March 2021

Tested and launched in the second half of 2020, FIT Investors has the dual objective of facilitating contact between qualified and established investors and start-ups that are supported by the FIT (Foundation for Technological Innovation) and in the process of raising funds.

FIT Investors stems from a simple observation: it is not easy for start-ups to get in touch with investors, nor for investors to find their way among the many start-ups in the region. The platform therefore intends, on the one hand, to give visibility to the young companies supported by the Foundation and, on the other hand, to guide investors in the FIT network. The FIT Investors tool is also a continuation of real exchanges during events organised by the Foundation, to anticipate or follow up on these meetings.

To ensure the smooth running of FIT Investors, start-ups and investors must be known to the Foundation in order to register. “The platform is ‘closed’, i.e. reserved for start-ups supported by the Foundation and for investors known to be active in Switzerland, such as venture capital funds, family offices, corporate ventures and private investors,” explains David Kappeler, Director and Head of Investments at FIT. The aim is to guarantee the quality of the start-ups featured on the platform, and to ensure that registered investors are no strangers to investing in very young companies and the risks inherent in such investments. “We are also taking advantage of the network of FIT members, such as BCV, to enhance and expand this range of institutional and private investors, and accompany them, if necessary, in the investment process,” David Kappeler continues.

FIT Investors is an evolving platform, which the Foundation wants to adapt to the needs of start-ups and investors. The beta-testers have also made it possible to improve a number of functionalities, and a second version of the platform is planned for 2021. “FIT Investors now has more than 10 start-ups currently raising funds, with tickets ranging from 500,000 to 15 million francs,” explains David Kappeler. In addition to ongoing fundraising, start-ups also have the opportunity to register and announce the start date of their upcoming funding round. “Our 12-month objective is to have at all times around 20 ongoing fundraising rounds on the platform, and a network of 50 investors”, concludes David Kappeler.

Discover FIT Investors

Read the article on FIT Investors by the Banque Cantonale Vaudoise

FIT Investors, une plateforme qui met en relation investisseurs et start-ups

FIT | 03 March 2021

Testée et lancée sur la deuxième moitié de 2020, FIT Investors a pour double objectif de faciliter la mise en relation entre des investisseurs qualifiés et reconnus et les start-ups soutenues par la FIT (Fondation pour l’Innovation Technologique) en cours de levée de fonds.

FIT Investors est issue d’un constat simple : il n’est pas évident ni pour les start-ups d’entrer en contact avec les investisseurs, ni pour les investisseurs de s’y retrouver parmi les nombreuses start-ups de la région. La plateforme entend donc d’une part, donner de la visibilité aux jeunes entreprises soutenues par la Fondation, et d’autre part, aiguiller les investisseurs du réseau de la FIT. L’outil FIT Investors s’inscrit également dans la continuité d’échanges réels lors d’événements organisés par la Fondation, pour anticiper ou donner suite à ces rencontres.

Pour garantir le bon fonctionnement de FIT Investors, start-ups et investisseurs doivent être connus par la Fondation pour s’y enregistrer. « La plateforme est ‘fermée’, c’est-à-dire réservée aux start-ups soutenues par la Fondation et aux investisseurs connus et actifs sur sol Suisse, tels que des fonds de Venture Capital, Family Offices, des Corporate Ventures ou encore des investisseurs privés », explique David Kappeler, Directeur et responsable des investissements à la FIT. L’objectif étant de garantir la qualité des start-ups présentes sur la plateforme, et de s’assurer que les investisseurs inscrits ne soient pas étrangers à l’investissement dans des entreprises très jeunes et aux risques qui y sont inhérents. « Nous profitions également du réseau des membres de la FIT, comme la BCV, pour enrichir et augmenter ce panel d’investisseurs institutionnels et privés, et les accompagner, si nécessaire, dans le processus d’investissement », poursuit David Kappeler.

FIT Investors est une plateforme évolutive, que la Fondation veut adapter aux besoins des start-ups et des investisseurs. Les beta-testeurs ont d’ailleurs permis d’améliorer un certain nombre de fonctionnalités, et une deuxième version de la plateforme est prévue courant 2021. « FIT Investors compte aujourd’hui plus de 10 start-ups actuellement en levée de fonds, pour des tickets de 500’000 à 15 millions de Francs », explique David Kappeler. Outre les levées de fonds en cours, les start-ups ont également la possibilité de s’enregistrer en annonçant la date de début de leur prochain tour de financement. « Notre objectif à 12 mois est d’avoir en tout temps une vingtaine de levées de fonds sur la plateforme, et un réseau de 50 investisseurs », conclut David Kappeler.

Découvrir FIT Investors

Lire l’article de la Banque Cantonale Vaudoise sur FIT Investors